WINCHESTER CITY COUNCIL

At the Annual Meeting of the Council held in the Guildhall, Winchester on 17 May 2006

Attendance:

Councillor Nelmes (The Mayor in the Chair) (P)

Councillors:

Allgood (P) Johnston (P) Anthony (P) Learney (P) Baxter (P) Lipscomb (P) Beckett (P) Love (P) Bennetts (P) Macmillan (P) Berry (P) Mather (P) Beveridge (P) Maynard (P) Busher (P) Merritt (P) Chamberlain (P) Nunn (P) Chapman (P) Pearce (P) Clohosey (P) Pearson (P) Coates (P) Pines (P) Collin (P) Quar (P) Cook (P) Read (P) Cooper (P) Rees (P) de Peyer (P) Ruffell (P) Evans (P) Saunders (P) Godfrey (P) Spender (P) Goodall (P) Stallard (P) Hammerton (P) Stephens (P) Sutton (P) Higgins (P) Hiscock (P) Tait Hollingbery (P) Verney (P) Howell (P) Wagner (P) Huxstep (P) Weston (P) Izard (P) Wood (P) Jackson (P) Worrall (P) Jeffs (P) Wright (P)

1518. **ELECTION OF MAYOR**

Proposed by Councillor Cook.

Seconded by Councillor Hiscock and resolved unanimously that Councillor Susan Nelmes be elected Mayor of the City of Winchester for the period commencing on 17 May 2006.

Councillor Baxter vacated the Chair, which was taken by the Mayor who made the Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

1519. **VOTE OF THANKS TO THE RETIRING MAYOR**

Proposed by Councillor Lipscomb

Seconded by Councillor Jeffs and resolved unanimously that the best thanks of the Council be accorded to Councillor Neil Baxter for his service to the Council as Mayor during the past year.

1520. **ELECTION OF DEPUTY MAYOR**

Proposed by Councillor Rees

Seconded by Councillor de Peyer and resolved unanimously that Councillor Chris Pines be elected Deputy Mayor of the City of Winchester for the period commencing on 17 May 2006.

1521. ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN OF CABINET

Councillor Beckett was elected Chairman of Cabinet for the ensuing Municipal Year.

1522. ELECTION OF VICE-CHAIRMAN OF CABINET

Councillor Hollingbery was elected Vice-Chairman of Cabinet for the ensuing Municipal Year.

1523. ELECTION OF COMMITTEE CHAIRMEN

The following Members were elected Chairman of the Committees stated for the ensuing Municipal Year:-

Licensing and Regulation – Councillor Mather

Planning Development Control – Councillor Jeffs

Principal Scrutiny – Councillor Learney

Personnel – Councillor Godfrey

Standards Committee – Mr J Spokes (Independent Member)

Appeal and Disputes – Councillor Baxter

Housing Appeals – Councillor Hammerton

Statement of Accounts – Councillor Beckett

Environment Scrutiny Panel - Councillor Saunders

Social Issues Scrutiny Panel – Councillor Hammerton

Local Economy Scrutiny Panel - Councillor Cooper

Resources Scrutiny Panel - Councillor Macmillan

1524. APPOINTMENT OF CABINET AND COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIPS

With the exception of Cabinet and Standards Committee, the Council reviewed the political representation on Committees in accordance with the provisions of Section 15(1) of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989.

In respect of Cabinet and Standards Committee, the Local Government Act 2000 stated that the achievement of political balance was not required.

The Council determined the representation on all the bodies as set out below.

RESOLVED:

That the allocation of seats to political groups be as follows:

Cabinet (7)

Conservatives (7)

Licensing and Regulation (15)

Conservatives (8): Liberal Democrats (6): Independent (1): Labour (0)

Planning Development Control (14)

Conservatives (7): Liberal Democrats (5): Independent (1): Labour (1)

Principal Scrutiny (17)

Conservatives (9): Liberal Democrats (6): Independent (1): Labour (1)

Personnel (12)

Conservatives (6): Liberal Democrats (4): Independent (1): Labour (1)

Standards (6)

Conservatives (2): Liberal Democrats (2): Independent (1): Labour (1)

Appeals and Disputes (9)

Conservatives (5): Liberal Democrats (3): Independent (1): Labour (0)

Housing Appeals (4)

Conservatives (1): Liberal Democrats (1): Independent (1): Labour (1)

Statement of Accounts (9)

Conservatives (5): Liberal Democrats (3): Independent (1): Labour (0)

Environment Scrutiny Panel (12)

Conservatives (6): Liberal Democrats (4): Independent (1): Labour (1)

Social Issues Scrutiny Panel (12)

Conservatives (6): Liberal Democrats (4): Independent (1): Labour (1)

Local Economy Scrutiny Panel (12)

Conservatives (6): Liberal Democrats (4): Independent (1): Labour (1)

Resources Scrutiny Panel (12)

Conservatives (6): Liberal Democrats (4): Independent (1): Labour (1)

Further to the above, and pursuant to Section 16 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989, the Chief Executive served notice on each of the Leaders of the four political groups on the Council as to the allocation of seats on Committees as indicated above.

The Chief Executive announced that he had been informed that each group had nominated Members to be appointed under alternative arrangements, although based upon the political balance formula, as set out below.

RESOLVED:

That the following appointments be made (in addition to the Chairmen who were appointed earlier in the meeting):

Cabinet

Allgood, Coates, Hollingbery, Lipscomb, Pearson and Stallard

Licensing and Regulation

Baxter, Berry, Hammerton, Howell, Izard, Johnston, Love, Pearce, Ruffell, Sutton, Wagner, Weston, Wood and Wright

Deputies

Busher, Evans, Goodall, Hiscock, Read and Verney

Planning Development Control

Baxter, Bennetts, Beveridge, Busher, de Peyer, Evans, Huxstep, Johnston, Read, Ruffell, Saunders, Sutton and Wood

Deputies

Chamberlain, Godfrey, Hammerton, Higgins, Pearce, Pearson, Pines and Rees

Personnel

Bennetts, Chapman, Collin, Cook, Cooper, Goodall, Nelmes, Pines, Read, Verney and Worrall

Deputies

Hammerton, Howell, Merritt and Rees

Principal Scrutiny

Anthony, Chamberlain, Chapman, Clohosey, Collin, Cook, Evans, Hiscock, Huxstep, Jeffs, Macmillan, Mather, Rees, Saunders, Wood, and Worrall Deputies

Busher, de Peyer, Spender and Tait

Standards

Berry, Bennetts, Chamberlain, Merritt, Quar and Rees

Statement of Accounts

Allgood, Busher, Clohosey, Hollingbery, Learney, Macmillan, Verney and Wagner

Deputies

Chamberlain, Collin, Wright

Social Issues Scrutiny Panel

Chapman, de Peyer, Higgins, Howell, Izard, Love, Nunn, Quar, Stephens, Tait and Weston

Deputies

Busher, Maynard, Rees, Worrall

Environment Scrutiny Panel

Beveridge, Busher, Godfrey, Higgins, Howell, Jackson, Mather, Rees, Wagner, Weston and Wright

Deputies

de Peyer, Goodall, Pearce and Verney

Local Economy Scrutiny Panel

Anthony, Godfrey, Goodall, Love, Macmillan, Maynard, Pearce, Rees,

Spender, Stephens and Verney

Deputies

Cook, de Peyer, Hammerton and Huxstep

Resources Scrutiny Panel

Anthony, Clohosey, Cooper, de Peyer, Hiscock, Goodall, Learney, Maynard, Ruffell, Worrall and Wright

Deputies

Chamberlain, Love, Rees and Verney

RESOLVED:

That the Winchester Town Forum be established for 2006/07 with membership consisting of all Members who represent the six Winchester Town Wards.

RESOLVED:

- 1. That alternative arrangements other than proportional representation be agreed in respect of the Appeals and Disputes Committee insofar as is necessary to enable the provisions of Council Procedure Rule 17(9)(b) still to apply to its hearings.
- 2. That in addition to the Chairman (who was appointed earlier in the meeting) eight Members of the Committee be appointed as follows:

Councillors Berry, Chamberlain, Clohosey, Huxstep, Pearce, Ruffell, Sutton and Wright

RESOLVED:

- 1. That alternative arrangements other than proportional representation be agreed in respect of the Housing (Appeals) Committee.
- 2. That in addition to the Chairman (who was appointed earlier in the meeting) three Members of the Committee be appointed as follows:

Councillors Berry, de Peyer and Izard

Deputies

Councillors Chamberlain, Love, Rees and Saunders

The meeting commenced at 7pm and concluded at 8.20pm.