WINCHESTER CITY COUNCIL

At the Annual Meeting of the Council held in the Guildhall, Winchester on 20 May 2009.

Attendance:

Councillor Hiscock (The Mayor in the Chair) (P)

	Councillors:	
Achwal		Jackson (P)
Allgood (P)		Jeffs (P)
Anthony (P)		Johnston (P)
Barratt (P)		Learney (P)
Baxter (P)		Lipscomb (P)
Beckett (P)		Love (P)
Bell (P)		Mason (P)
Berry (P)		Mather (P)
Biggs (P)		Maynard (P)
Busher (P)		Mitchell (P)
Chamberlain (P)		Nelmes (P)
Clear (P)		Pearce (P)
Coates (P)		Pearson (P)
Collin (P)		Pines (P)
Cook (P)		Read (P)
Cooper (P)		Ruffell (P)
Evans (P)		Sanders (P)
Fall (P) Gemmell (P)		Spender (P)
Godfrey (P)		Stallard (P) Stephens (P)
Hammerton (P)		Tait (P)
Hicks (P)		Thompson (P)
Higgins (P)		Verney (P)
Hollingbery (P)		Wagner
Howell (P)		Weston (P)
Humby (P)		Wood (P)
Huxstep (P)		Worrall (P)
Izard (P)		Wright (P)
		U ()

1. **ELECTION OF MAYOR**

Proposed by Councillor Learney.

Seconded by Councillor Collin and resolved unanimously that Councillor Dominic Hiscock be elected Mayor of the City of Winchester for the period commencing on 20 May 2009.

Councillor Read vacated the Chair, which was taken by the Mayor who made the Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

2. VOTE OF THANKS TO THE RETIRING MAYOR

Proposed by Councillor Jeffs.

Seconded by Councillor Pearson and resolved unanimously that the best thanks of the Council be accorded to Councillor Michael Read for his service to the Council as Mayor during the past year.

3. ELECTION OF DEPUTY MAYOR

Proposed by Councillor Evans.

Seconded by Councillor Mason and resolved unanimously that Councillor Richard Charles Izard be elected Deputy Mayor of the City of Winchester for the period commencing on 20 May 2009.

4. ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN OF CABINET

Councillor Beckett was elected Chairman of Cabinet and Leader of the Council for the ensuing Municipal Year.

5. ELECTION OF VICE-CHAIRMAN OF CABINET

Councillor Cooper was elected Vice-Chairman of Cabinet and Deputy Leader of the Council for the ensuing Municipal Year.

6. ELECTION OF COMMITTEE CHAIRMEN

The following Members were elected Chairman of the Committees stated for the ensuing Municipal Year:-

Licensing and Regulation – Councillor Mather Planning Development Control – Councillor Jeffs Principal Scrutiny – Councillor Chamberlain Personnel – Councillor Worrall Standards Committee – Mr P Smith (Independent Member) Appeal and Disputes – Councillor Baxter Housing Appeals – Councillor Berry Statement of Accounts – Councillor Beckett Environment Scrutiny Panel – Councillor Lipscomb Social Issues Scrutiny Panel – Councillor Tait Local Economy Scrutiny Panel – Councillor Anthony Resources Scrutiny Panel – Councillor Wright

7. APPOINTMENT OF CABINET AND COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIPS

With the exception of Cabinet and Standards Committee, the Council reviewed the political representation on Committees in accordance with the provisions of Section 15(1) of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989.

In respect of Cabinet and Standards Committee, the Local Government Act 2000 stated that the achievement of political balance was not required.

The Council determined the representation on all the bodies as set out below.

RESOLVED:

1. That the Corporate Director (Governance) be authorised to make any minor consequential amendments to the Constitution to give effect to the decisions made.

2. That the allocation of seats to political groups be as follows:

Cabinet (8) Conservatives (8)

<u>Licensing and Regulation (15)</u> Conservatives (8): Liberal Democrats (6): Independent (1)

<u>Planning Development Control (11)</u> Conservatives (6): Liberal Democrats (4): Independent (1)

Principal Scrutiny (13) Conservatives (7): Liberal Democrats (5): Independent (1)

<u>Personnel (11)</u> Conservatives (6): Liberal Democrats (5): Independent (0)

<u>Standards (7)</u> Conservatives (3): Liberal Democrats (3): Independent (1)

<u>Appeals and Disputes (9)</u> Conservatives (5): Liberal Democrats (3): Independent (1)

<u>Housing Appeals (3)</u> Conservatives (1): Liberal Democrats (1): Independent (1)

<u>Statement of Accounts (9)</u> Conservatives (5): Liberal Democrats (4): Independent (0)

Environment Scrutiny Panel (12) Conservatives (6): Liberal Democrats (5): Independent (1) Social Issues Scrutiny Panel (12) Conservatives (6): Liberal Democrats (5): Independent (1)

Local Economy Scrutiny Panel (11) Conservatives (6): Liberal Democrats (5): Independent (0)

<u>Resources Scrutiny Panel (11)</u> Conservatives (6): Liberal Democrats (5): Independent (0)

Further to the above, and pursuant to Section 16 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989, the Chief Executive served notice on each of the Leaders of the three political groups on the Council as to the allocation of seats on Committees as indicated above.

The Chief Executive announced that he had been informed that each group had nominated Members to be appointed under alternative arrangements, although based upon the political balance formula, as set out below.

RESOLVED:

That the following appointments be made (in addition to the Chairmen who were appointed earlier in the meeting):

<u>Cabinet</u> Allgood, Coates, Cooper, Godfrey, Pearson, Stallard and Wood

Licensing and Regulation Baxter Berry Hammerton Howell Izard

Baxter, Berry, Hammerton, Howell, Izard, Jackson, Johnston, Love, Mason, Pearce, Read, Thynne, Weston and Wright <u>Deputies</u> Busher, Hiscock and Tait

Planning Development Control

Barratt, Baxter, Busher, Evans, Fall, Huxstep, Johnston, Lipscomb, Ruffell, and Tait <u>Deputies</u> Berry, Hammerton, Pearce, Read, Thompson and Weston

<u>Personnel</u> Achwal, Collin, Cook, Gemmell, Howell, Learney, Nelmes, Thynne, Verney and Weston <u>Deputies</u> Clear and Read

<u>Principal Scrutiny</u> Anthony, Baxter, Collin, Cook, Evans, Huxstep, Learney, Lipscomb, Mitchell, Read, Tait and Wright <u>Deputies</u> Barratt, Busher, Hammerton, Mather, Sanders and Thompson <u>Standards</u>

Barratt, Baxter, Berry, Chamberlain, Izard, Lipscomb and Nelmes

<u>Statement of Accounts</u> Allgood, Evans, Godfrey, Higgins, Jeffs, Learney, Mitchell and Verney <u>Deputies</u> Baxter and Thompson

<u>Social Issues Scrutiny Panel</u> Achwal, Berry, Clear, Gemmell, Hammerton, Hicks, Love, Nelmes, Ruffell, Thynne and Weston <u>Deputies</u> Busher, Fall and Stephens

<u>Environment Scrutiny Panel</u> Bell, Busher, Clear, Gemmell, Howell, Jackson, Mather, Maynard, Spender, Worrall and Wright <u>Deputies</u> Chamberlain, Pearce and Ruffell

Local Economy Scrutiny Panel Bell, Cook, Henry, Humby, Huxstep, Love, Pearce, Sanders, Stephens and Verney Deputies Evans and Tait

<u>Resources Scrutiny Panel</u> Anthony, Henry, Higgins, Huxstep, Jeffs, Learney, Mitchell, Sanders, Thompson and Verney <u>Deputies</u> Humby and Maynard

RESOLVED:

That the Winchester Town Forum be established for 2009/10 with membership consisting of all Members who represent the six Winchester Town Wards.

RESOLVED:

1. That alternative arrangements other than proportional representation be agreed in respect of the Appeals and Disputes Committee insofar as is necessary to enable the provisions of Council Procedure Rule 17(9)(b) still to apply to its hearings.

2. That eight additional Members of the Committee be appointed as follows:

Councillors Berry, Chamberlain, Fall, Humby, Huxstep, Johnston, Mather and Pearce

RESOLVED:

1. That alternative arrangements other than proportional representation be agreed in respect of the Housing (Appeals) Committee.

2. That two additional Members of the Committee be appointed as follows:-

Councillors Hammerton and Nelmes

<u>Deputies</u> Councillors Chamberlain, Collin and Lipscomb

The meeting commenced at 7pm and concluded at 8.15pm.

The Mayor