WINCHESTER CITY COUNCIL

At the Annual Meeting of the Council held in the Guildhall, Winchester on 19 May 2010.

Attendance:

Councillor Izard (The Mayor in the Chair) (P)

Councillors:

Learney (P) Achwal (P) Anthony Lipscomb (P) Banister (P) Love (P) Barratt (P) Mason (P) Baxter (P) Mather (P) Beckett (P) Maynard (P) Bell (P) McLean (P) Berry (P) Mitchell (P) Chamberlain (P) Nelmes (P) Pearce (P) Clear (P) Coates (P) Pearson (P) Collin (P) Phillips (P) Cook Power (P) Cooper (P) Prowse (P) Evans (P) Read (P) Fall (P) Ruffell (P) Gemmell (P) Rutter (P) Godfrey (P) Sanders Hammerton (P) Spender (P) Henry (P) Stallard (P) Hicks (P) Tait (P) Higgins (P) Thompson (P) Hiscock (P) Thynne (P) Humby (P) Verney Huxstep (P) Weston (P) Jackson (P) Witt (P) Jeffs (P) Wood (P) Johnston (P) Wright (P)

1. **ELECTION OF MAYOR**

Proposed by Councillor Evans.

Seconded by Councillor Mason and resolved unanimously that Councillor Richard Izard be elected Mayor of the City of Winchester for the period commencing on 19 May 2010.

Councillor Hiscock vacated the Chair, which was taken by the Mayor who made the Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

2. VOTE OF THANKS TO THE RETIRING MAYOR

Proposed by Councillor Learney.

Seconded by Councillor Collin and resolved unanimously that the best thanks of the Council be accorded to Councillor Dominic Hiscock for his service to the Council as Mayor during the past year.

3. **ELECTION OF DEPUTY MAYOR**

Proposed by Councillor Godfrey.

Seconded by Councillor Pearson and resolved unanimously that Councillor Barry Lipscomb be elected Deputy Mayor of the City of Winchester for the period commencing on 19 May 2010.

4. <u>ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN OF CABINET</u>

Councillor Learney was elected Chairman of Cabinet and Leader of the Council for the ensuing Municipal Year.

5. **ELECTION OF VICE-CHAIRMAN OF CABINET**

Councillor Evans was elected Vice-Chairman of Cabinet and Deputy Leader of the Council for the ensuing Municipal Year.

6. **ELECTION OF COMMITTEE CHAIRMEN**

The following Members were elected Chairman of the Committees stated for the ensuing Municipal Year:-

Licensing and Regulation - Councillor Jackson

Planning Development Control – Councillor Johnston

Principal Scrutiny - Councillor Chamberlain

Personnel – Councillor Cook

Standards Committee – Mr P Smith (Independent Member)

Appeal and Disputes - Councillor Pearce

Housing Appeals – Councillor Nelmes

Statement of Accounts - Councillor Learney

Environment Scrutiny Panel - Councillor Higgins

Social Issues Scrutiny Panel - Councillor Love

Local Economy Scrutiny Panel - Councillor Spender

Resources Scrutiny Panel - Councillor Henry

7. APPOINTMENT OF CABINET AND COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIPS

With the exception of Cabinet and Standards Committee, the Council reviewed the political representation on Committees in accordance with the provisions of Section 15(1) of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989.

In respect of Cabinet and Standards Committee, the Local Government Act 2000 stated that the achievement of political balance was not required.

The Council determined the representation on all the bodies as set out below.

RESOLVED:

- 1. That the Corporate Director (Governance) be authorised to make any minor consequential amendments to the Constitution to give effect to the decisions made.
 - 2. That the allocation of seats to political groups be as follows:

Cabinet (6)

Liberal Democrats (6)

Licensing and Regulation (13)

Liberal Democrats (7): Conservatives (5): Independent (1)

Planning Development Control (9)

Liberal Democrats (5): Conservatives (4): Independent (0)

Principal Scrutiny (11)

Liberal Democrats (6): Conservatives (4): Independent (1)

Personnel (9)

Liberal Democrats (5): Conservatives (4): Independent (0)

Standards (7)

Liberal Democrats (3): Conservatives (3): Independent (1)

Appeals and Disputes (9)

Liberal Democrats (5): Conservatives (3): Independent (1)

Housing Appeals (3)

Liberal Democrats (1): Conservatives (1): Independent (1)

Statement of Accounts (5)

Liberal Democrats (3): Conservatives (2): Independent (0)

Environment Scrutiny Panel (9)

Liberal Democrats (5): Conservatives (4): Independent (0)

Social Issues Scrutiny Panel (11)

Liberal Democrats (6): Conservatives (4): Independent (1)

Local Economy Scrutiny Panel (9)

Liberal Democrats (5): Conservatives (4): Independent (0)

Resources Scrutiny Panel (9)

Liberal Democrats (5): Conservatives (4): Independent (0)

Further to the above, and pursuant to Section 16 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989, the Chief Executive served notice on each of the Leaders of the three political groups on the Council as to the allocation of seats on Committees as indicated above.

The Chief Executive announced that he had been informed that each group had nominated Members to be appointed under alternative arrangements, although based upon the political balance formula, as set out below.

RESOLVED:

That the following appointments be made (in addition to the Chairmen who were appointed earlier in the meeting):-

Cabinet

Bell, Collin, Hiscock and Thompson

Licensing and Regulation

Baxter, Fall, Hammerton, Izard, Love, Mason, Mather, Pearce, Prowse, Read, Thynne and Wright

Deputies

Chamberlain, Johnston and Verney

Planning Development Control

Barratt, Evans, Fall, Huxstep, Jeffs, Lipscomb, Pearce and Tait Deputies

Bell, Berry, Mitchell and Read

Personnel

Achwal, Gemmell, Godfrey, Higgins, Nelmes, Rutter, Sanders and Thynne

Deputies

Clear and McLean

Principal Scrutiny

Banister, Beckett, Coates, Cook, Higgins, Mitchell, Pearson, Rutter, Spender and Wood

Deputies

Godfrey, Hammerton, Johnston, Nelmes and Stallard

Standards

Barratt, Baxter, Berry, Chamberlain, Clear, Lipscomb and Nelmes

Statement of Accounts

Beckett, Cook, Mitchell and Wood

Deputies

Evans and Verney

Social Issues Scrutiny Panel

Achwal, Clear, Coates, Cooper, Gemmell, Hammerton, Hicks, Prowse, Weston and Witt

Deputies

Berry, Chamberlain and Power

Environment Scrutiny Panel

Banister, Jackson, Jeffs, Mather, Maynard, Phillips, Pearson and Witt Deputies

Fall and McLean

Local Economy Scrutiny Panel

Anthony, Fall, Love, Nelmes, Power, Ruffell, Sanders and Stallard Deputies

Beckett and Pearce

Resources Scrutiny Panel

Achwal, Higgins, Huxstep, McLean, Mitchell, Power, Verney and Wright <u>Deputies</u>

Fall and Phillips

RESOLVED:

That the Winchester Town Forum be established for 2010/11 with membership consisting of all Members who represent the six Winchester Town Wards.

RESOLVED:

- 1. That alternative arrangements other than proportional representation be agreed in respect of the Appeals and Disputes Committee insofar as is necessary to enable the provisions of Council Procedure Rule 17(9)(b) still to apply to its hearings.
- 2. That eight additional Members of the Committee be appointed as follows:

Councillors Baxter, Berry, Chamberlain, Clear, Fall, Johnston, Love and Read

RESOLVED:

- 1. That alternative arrangements other than proportional representation be agreed in respect of the Housing (Appeals) Committee.
- 2. That two additional Members of the Committee be appointed as follows:-

Councillors Berry and Hammerton

Deputies

Councillors Chamberlain, Collin and Lipscomb

The meeting commenced at 7pm and concluded at 8.10pm.

The Mayor