## WINCHESTER CITY COUNCIL

At the Annual Meeting of the Council held in the Guildhall, Winchester on 18 May 2011.

#### Attendance:

Berry (P)

Clear (P)

Cook (P)

Henry

Higgins (P)

Hiscock (P)

Humby (P)

Huxstep (P)

Johnston (P) Laming (P)

Learney (P) Love (P)

Izard (P) Jackson (P)

Jeffs (P)

Hutchison (P)

Councillor Lipscomb (The Mayor in the Chair) (P)

Councillors:

Achwal (P) Banister (P) Beckett (P) Bodtger (P) Chamberlain (P) Coates (P) Collin (P) Cooper (P) Evans (P) Gemmell (P) Godfrey (P) Gottlieb (P) Hammerton (P)

Mason (P) Mather (P) Maynard (P) McLean (P) Mitchell (P) Nelmes (P) Newman-McKie (P) Pearce (P) Pearson (P) Phillips (P) Pines (P) Power (P) Prowse (P) Read (P) Ruffell (P) Rutter (P) Sanders (P) Scott (P) Stallard (P) Tait (P) Thompson (P) Verney (P) Warwick (P) Weston (P) Witt (P) Wood (P) Wright (P)

#### 1. **ELECTION OF MAYOR**

Proposed by Councillor Godfrey.

Seconded by Councillor Stallard and resolved unanimously that Councillor Barry Lipscomb be elected Mayor of the City of Winchester for the period commencing on 18 May 2011.

Councillor Izard vacated the Chair, which was taken by the Mayor who made the Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

# 2. VOTE OF THANKS TO THE RETIRING MAYOR

Proposed by Councillor Evans.

Seconded by Councillor Mason and resolved unanimously that the best thanks of the Council be accorded to Councillor Richard Izard for his service to the Council as Mayor during the past year.

## 3. ELECTION OF DEPUTY MAYOR

Proposed by Councillor Beckett.

Seconded by Councillor Weston and resolved unanimously that Councillor Frank Pearson be elected Deputy Mayor of the City of Winchester for the period commencing on 18 May 2011.

## 4. ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN OF CABINET

Councillor Beckett was elected Chairman of Cabinet and Leader of the Council for the ensuing Municipal Year.

## 5. <u>APPOINTMENT OF VICE-CHAIRMAN OF CABINET AND REMAINING</u> <u>MEMBERS OF CABINET BY THE LEADER</u>

The Leader appointed Councillor Cooper as Vice-Chairman of Cabinet and Deputy Leader of the Council for the ensuing Municipal Year.

The Leader also appointed Councillors Coates, Godfrey, Humby, Stallard, Weston and Wood as the remaining Members of Cabinet.

## 6. ELECTION OF COMMITTEE CHAIRMEN

The following Members were elected Chairman of the Committees stated for the ensuing Municipal Year:-

The Overview and Scrutiny – Councillor Chamberlain Audit – Councillor Hammerton Licensing and Regulation – Councillor Mather Planning Development Control – Councillor Jeffs Personnel – Councillor Huxstep Standards Committee – Mr P Smith (Independent Member) Appeals and Disputes – Councillor Read

## 7. APPOINTMENT OF COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIPS

With the exception of Cabinet and Standards Committee, the Council reviewed the political representation on Committees in accordance with the provisions of Section 15(1) of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989.

In respect of Cabinet and Standards Committee, the Local Government Act 2000 provided that the achievement of political balance was not required.

The Council determined the representation on all the bodies as set out below.

#### **RESOLVED**:

1. That the Corporate Director (Governance) be authorised to make any minor consequential amendments to the Constitution to give effect to the decisions made.

2. That the allocation of seats to political groups be as follows:

<u>The Overview and Scrutiny (11)</u> Conservatives (5): Liberal Democrats (5): Independent (1)

<u>Audit (9)</u> Conservatives (4): Liberal Democrats (4): Independent (1)

<u>Licensing and Regulation (12)</u> Conservatives (6): Liberal Democrats (6): Independent (0)

<u>Planning Development Control (12)</u> Conservatives (6): Liberal Democrats (6): Independent (0)

<u>Personnel (10)</u> Conservatives (5): Liberal Democrats (5): Independent (0)

<u>Standards (7)</u> Conservatives (3): Liberal Democrats (3): Independent (1)

Housing Appeals (3) Conservatives (1): Liberal Democrats (1): Independent (1)

<u>Appeals and Disputes (9)</u> Conservatives (4): Liberal Democrats (4): Independent (1)

Further to the above, and pursuant to Section 16 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989, the Chief Executive served notice on each of the Leaders of the three political groups on the Council as to the allocation of seats on Committees as indicated above. **RESOLVED**:

That the following appointments be made (in addition to the Chairmen who were appointed earlier in the meeting):-

<u>The Overview and Scrutiny</u> Cook, Gottlieb, Hutchison, Huxstep, Learney, Pearson, Power, Tait, Thompson and Wright <u>Deputies</u> Evans, Gemmell, Hammerton, Hiscock, Jeffs

<u>Audit</u> Banister, Higgins, Hutchison, Mather, McLean, Mitchell, Sanders and Verney <u>Deputies</u> Chamberlain, Power and Warwick

<u>Licensing and Regulation</u> Bodtger, Izard, Jackson, Love, Mason, Pearce, Phillips, Prowse, Read, Scott and Wright <u>Deputies</u> Verney and Witt

<u>Planning Development Control</u> Berry, Clear, Evans, Izard, Johnston, Laming, McLean, Pearce, Read, Ruffell and Tait <u>Deputies</u> Huxstep, Love, Mitchell, Rutter, Scott and Wright

<u>Personnel</u> Achwal, Cook, Gemmell, Higgins, Nelmes, Phillips, Rutter, Sanders and Warwick <u>Deputies</u> Jackson and Verney

<u>Standards</u> Berry, Chamberlain, Clear, Laming, Lipscomb, Nelmes and Pearson

RESOLVED:

That the Winchester Town Forum be established for 2011/12 with membership consisting of all Members who represent the six Winchester Town Wards.

#### **RESOLVED**:

1. That alternative arrangements other than proportional representation be agreed in respect of the Housing (Appeals) Committee.

2. That three additional Members of the Committee be appointed as follows:-

Councillors Hammerton, Nelmes and Warwick <u>Deputies</u> Councillors Chamberlain, Clear and Gemmell

**RESOLVED**:

1. That alternative arrangements other than proportional representation be agreed in respect of the Appeals and Disputes Committee insofar as is necessary to enable the provisions of Council Procedure Rule 17(9)(b) still to apply to its hearings.

2. That eight additional Members of the Committee be appointed as follows:

Councillors Achwal, Bodtger, Chamberlain, Clear, Love, Pearson, Power, and Scott.

The meeting commenced at 7pm and concluded at 8.20pm.

The Mayor