WINCHESTER CITY COUNCIL

At the Annual Meeting of the Council held in the Guildhall, Winchester on 16 May 2012.

Attendance:

Councillor Pearson (The Mayor in the Chair) (P)

Councillors:

Achwal (P) Banister (P) Berry E (P) Berry J (P) Bodtger (P) Byrnes (P) Chamberlain (P) Clear (P) Coates (P) Collin (P) Cook (P) Cutler (P) Evans (P) Gemmell (P) Godfrey (P) Gottlieb (P) Green (P) Henry (P) Hiscock (P) Humby (P) Hutchison (P) Huxstep (P) Izard (P) Jeffs (P) Johnston (P) Laming (P) Learney (P) Lipscomb (P)

Mason (P) Mather (P) Maynard (P) McLean (P) Miller (P) Nelmes (P) Newman-McKie (P) Pearce (P) Phillips (P) Pines (P) Power (P) Prowse (P) Read (P) Ruffell (P) Rutter (P) Sanders Scott (P) Southgate (P) Stallard (P) Tait (P) Tod (P) Verney (P) Warwick (P) Weir (P) Weston (P) Witt (P) Wood (P) Wright (P)

1. ELECTION OF MAYOR

Proposed by Councillor Weston.

Seconded by Councillor Read and resolved unanimously that Councillor Frank Richard Pearson be elected Mayor of the City of Winchester for the period commencing on 16 May 2012. Councillor Lipscomb vacated the Chair, which was taken by the Mayor who made the Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

2. VOTE OF THANKS TO THE RETIRING MAYOR

Proposed by Councillor Godfrey.

Seconded by Councillor Stallard and resolved unanimously that the best thanks of the Council be accorded to Councillor Barry David Lipscomb for his service to the Council as Mayor during the past year.

3. ELECTION OF DEPUTY MAYOR

Proposed by Councillor Wood.

Seconded by Councillor Gottlieb and resolved unanimously that Councillor Ernest David Jeffs be elected Deputy Mayor of the City of Winchester for the period commencing on 16 May 2012.

4. ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN OF CABINET

Councillor Wood was elected Chairman of Cabinet and Leader of the Council for the ensuing Municipal Year.

5. <u>APPOINTMENT OF VICE-CHAIRMAN OF CABINET AND REMAINING</u> <u>MEMBERS OF CABINET BY THE LEADER</u>

The Leader appointed Councillor Humby as Vice-Chairman of Cabinet and Deputy Leader of the Council for the ensuing Municipal Year.

The Leader also appointed Councillors Coates, Godfrey, Huxstep, Stallard, Tait and Weston as the remaining Members of Cabinet.

6. ELECTION OF COMMITTEE CHAIRMEN

The following Members were elected Chairman of the Committees stated for the ensuing Municipal Year:-

The Overview and Scrutiny – Councillor Pines Audit – Councillor Banister Licensing and Regulation – Councillor Mather Planning Development Control – Councillor Jeffs Personnel – Councillor Lipscomb Appeals and Disputes – Councillor McLean

Standards Committee – Councillor Read (from 1/7/12) (Because of the changes caused by the Localism Act 2011, the Council agreed (on 18/4/12) that the four existing Independent Members (Mr P Smith (Chairman), Mr J Barnett, Ms J Collins and Ms C Hicks) should continue until 30/6/12. The three Parish Representatives (Ms J Bond, Mr M Evans and Mr J Watson) were appointed for the 2012/13 Municipal Year, although as from 1/7/12 they will become non-voting co-optees).

7. APPOINTMENT OF COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIPS

With the exception of Cabinet, the Council reviewed the political representation on Committees in accordance with the provisions of Section 15(1) of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989.

The Council determined the representation on all the bodies as set out below under alternative arrangements, but based on the political balance formula.

RESOLVED:

1. That the Corporate Director (Governance) be authorised to make any minor consequential amendments to the Constitution to give effect to the decisions made.

2. That the allocation of seats to political groups be as follows:

<u>The Overview and Scrutiny (11)</u> Conservatives (6): Liberal Democrats (4): Labour (1)

<u>Audit (9)</u> Conservatives (4): Liberal Democrats (4): Labour (1)

Licensing and Regulation (13) Conservatives (6): Liberal Democrats (7): Labour (0)

Planning Development Control (12) Conservatives (7): Liberal Democrats (5): Labour (0)

<u>Personnel (9)</u> Conservatives (5): Liberal Democrats (4): Labour (0)

<u>Standards (7)</u> Conservatives (3): Liberal Democrats (3): Independent (1)

Housing Appeals (3) Conservatives (1): Liberal Democrats (1): Labour (1)

<u>Appeals and Disputes (9)</u> Conservatives (4): Liberal Democrats (4): Independent (1)

Further to the above, and pursuant to Section 16 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989, the Chief Executive served notice on each of the Leaders of the three political groups on the Council as to the allocation of seats on Committees as indicated above. RESOLVED:

That the following appointments to Committees be made (in addition to the Chairmen who were appointed earlier in the meeting):-

The Overview and Scrutiny

Councillors Cook, Evans, Gemmell, Gottlieb, Hutchison, Learney, Read, Sanders, Scott and Wright Deputies

Councillors J Berry, Hiscock, Lipscomb, Phillips and Tod

<u>Audit</u>

Councillors J Berry, Cutler, Mather, Miller, Power, Southgate, Verney and Weir <u>Deputies</u> Councillors Bodtger, Hiscock, and Pines

Licensing and Regulation

Councillors Bodtger, Collin, Green, Izard, Johnston, Laming, Mason, Pearce, Phillips, Prowse, Southgate and Wright <u>Deputies</u> Councillors Clear and Verney

Planning Development Control

Councillors E Berry, Clear, Evans, Izard, Johnston, Lipscomb, McLean, Pearce, Read, Ruffell and Scott <u>Deputies</u> Councillors Byrnes, Gottlieb, Newman-McKie, Rutter and Warwick

<u>Personnel</u>

Councillors Achwal, Byrnes, Cook, Nelmes, Phillips, Sanders, Warwick and Witt

Deputies

Councillors Cutler and Verney

Standards

Councillors E Berry, Chamberlain, Clear, Johnston, Nelmes and Phillips (Because of the changes caused by the Localism Act 2011, the Council agreed (on 18/4/12) that the four existing Independent Members (Mr P Smith (Chairman), Mr J Barnett, Ms J Collins and Ms C Hicks) should continue until 30/6/12. The three Parish Representatives (Ms J Bond, Mr M Evans and Mr J Watson) were appointed for the 2012/13 Municipal Year, although as from 1/7/12 they will become non-voting co-optees).

RESOLVED:

That the Winchester Town Forum be established for 2012/13 with membership consisting of all Members who represent the six Winchester Town Wards.

RESOLVED:

1. That alternative arrangements other than proportional representation be agreed in respect of the Housing (Appeals) Committee.

2. That three additional Members of the Committee be appointed as follows:-

Councillors Nelmes, Pines and Warwick <u>Deputies</u> Councillors J Berry, Clear and Gemmell

RESOLVED:

1. That alternative arrangements other than proportional representation be agreed in respect of the Appeals and Disputes Committee.

2. That eight additional Members of the Committee be appointed as follows:

Councillors Bodtger, Chamberlain, Clear, Green, Johnston, Miller, Pearce and Power.

8. POLICE AND CRIME PANEL

RESOLVED:

1. That Councillor Stallard be appointed as the City Council's representative on the Police and Crime Panel for the 2012/13 Municipal Year (Deputy Councillor Huxstep).

2. That Councillor Byrnes be nominated for one of the three co-optee positions on the Panel.

The meeting commenced at 7pm and concluded at 8.05pm.