WINCHESTER CITY COUNCIL

At the Annual Meeting of the Council held in the Guildhall, Winchester on 15 May 2013.

Attendance:

Councillor Jeffs (The Mayor in the Chair) (P)

Councillors:

Achwal (P) Mather (P) Banister (P) Maynard (P) Berry E (P) McLean (P) Berry J (P) Miller (P) Bodtger (P) Nelmes (P) Newman-McKie (P) Byrnes (P) Chamberlain (P) Pearce (P) Clear (P) Pearson (P) Coates (P) Phillips (P) Pines (P) Collin (P) Cook (P) Power (P) Cutler (P) Prowse (P) Evans (P) Read (P) Gemmell (P) Ruffell (P) Godfrey (P) Rutter (P) Gottlieb (P) Sanders Green (P) Scott (P) Henry (P) Southgate (P) Hiscock (P) Stallard (P) Humby (P) Tait (P) Tod (P) Hutchison (P) Huxstep (P) Verney (P) Jeffs (P) Warwick (P) Johnston Weir (P) Laming Weston (P) Learney (P) Witt (P) Lipscomb (P) Wood (P) Mason (P) Wright (P)

1. **ELECTION OF MAYOR**

Proposed by Councillor Wood.

Seconded by Councillor Gottlieb and resolved unanimously that Councillor Ernest David Jeffs be elected Mayor of the City of Winchester for the period commencing on 15 May 2013.

Councillor Pearson vacated the Chair, which was taken by the Mayor who made the Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

2. **VOTE OF THANKS TO THE RETIRING MAYOR**

Proposed by Councillor Weston.

Seconded by Councillor Read and resolved unanimously that the best thanks of the Council be accorded to Councillor Frank Richard Pearson for his service to the Council as Mayor during the past year.

3. **ELECTION OF DEPUTY MAYOR**

Proposed by Councillor Wood.

Seconded by Councillor Godfrey and resolved unanimously that Councillor Eileen Berry be elected Deputy Mayor of the City of Winchester for the period commencing on 15 May 2013.

4. <u>APPOINTMENT OF VICE-CHAIRMAN OF CABINET AND REMAINING</u> MEMBERS OF CABINET BY THE LEADER

The Leader appointed Councillor Humby as Vice-Chairman of Cabinet and Deputy Leader of the Council for the ensuing Municipal Year.

The Leader also appointed Councillors Godfrey, Miller, Tait, Warwick and Weston as the remaining Members of Cabinet.

5. **ELECTION OF COMMITTEE CHAIRMEN**

The following Members were elected Chairman of the Committees stated for the ensuing Municipal Year:-

The Overview and Scrutiny – Councillor Pines
Audit – Councillor Banister
Licensing and Regulation – Councillor Mather
Planning Development Control – Councillor Ruffell
Personnel – Councillor Pearson
Standards Committee – Councillor Read
Appeals and Disputes – Councillor McLean

6. **APPOINTMENT OF COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIPS**

With the exception of Cabinet, the Council reviewed the political representation on Committees in accordance with the provisions of Section 15(1) of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989.

The Council determined the representation on all the bodies as set out below under alternative arrangements, but based on the political balance formula.

RESOLVED:

- 1. That the Chief Operating Officer be authorised to make any minor consequential amendments to the Constitution to give effect to the decisions made.
 - 2. That the allocation of seats to political groups be as follows:

The Overview and Scrutiny (11)

Conservatives (6): Liberal Democrats (4): Labour (1)

Audit (9)

Conservatives (4): Liberal Democrats (4): Labour (1)

Licensing and Regulation (13)

Conservatives (7): Liberal Democrats (6): Labour (0)

Planning Development Control (10)

Conservatives (6): Liberal Democrats (4): Labour (0)

Personnel (9)

Conservatives (5): Liberal Democrats (4): Labour (0)

Standards (7)

Conservatives (3): Liberal Democrats (3): Independent (1)

Housing Appeals (3)

Conservatives (1): Liberal Democrats (1): Labour (1)

Appeals and Disputes (9)

Conservatives (4): Liberal Democrats (4): Independent (1)

Further to the above, and pursuant to Section 16 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989, the Chief Executive served notice on each of the Leaders of the three political groups on the Council as to the allocation of seats on Committees as indicated above.

RESOLVED:

That the following appointments to Committees be made (in addition to the Chairmen who were appointed earlier in the meeting):-

The Overview and Scrutiny

Councillors Byrnes, Cook, Evans, Gemmell, Learney, Power, Sanders, Scott, Stallard and Wright

Deputies

Councillors J Berry, Hiscock, Huxstep, Read and Tod

<u>Audit</u>

Councillors J Berry, Byrnes, Cutler, Mather, Power, Stallard, Verney and Weir

Deputies

Councillors Hiscock, Pines and Scott

Licensing and Regulation

Councillors Bodtger, Green, Izard, Johnston, Laming, Lipscomb, Mason, Newman-McKie, Phillips, Prowse, Southgate and Wright <u>Deputies</u>

Councillors Clear and Verney

Planning Development Control

Councillors Evans, Gottlieb, Izard, Johnston, Lipscomb, McLean, Pearce, Pearson and Read

Deputies

Councillors Bodtger, Clear, Phillips and Rutter

Personnel

Councillors Achwal, Byrnes, Cook, Huxstep, Nelmes, Phillips, Sanders, and Witt

Deputies

Councillors Cutler and Verney

Standards

Councillors E Berry, Chamberlain, Clear, Johnston, Nelmes and Phillips

RESOLVED:

- 1. That the Standards Committee be authorised to appoint three Parish Representatives to serve as non-voting, co-opted members for the 2013/14 and 2014/15 Municipal Years, and to recommend to Council on 17 July 2013 the appointment of one further Independent Person for the 2013/14 and 2014/15 Municipal Years, to join the two Independent Persons already appointed.
- 2. That the Winchester Town Forum be established for 2013/14 with membership consisting of all Members who represent the six Winchester Town Wards.
- 3. That alternative arrangements other than proportional representation be agreed in respect of the Housing (Appeals) Committee and that the Members of the Committee for 2013/14 be appointed as follows:-

Councillors E Berry, Nelmes and Pines <u>Deputies</u>
Councillors J Berry, Clear and Ruffell 4. That alternative arrangements other than proportional representation be agreed in respect of the Appeals and Disputes Committee and that the eight additional Members of the Committee for 2013/14 be appointed as follows:

Councillors Bodtger, Chamberlain, Clear, Gottlieb, Johnston, Pearce, Power and Southgate.

The meeting commenced at 7pm and concluded at 8.20pm.

The Mayor