WINCHESTER CITY COUNCIL

At the Annual Meeting of the Council held in the Guildhall, Winchester on 4 June 2014.

Attendance:

Councillor E Berry (The Mayor in the Chair) (P)

Councillors:

Achwal (P)	Mason (P)
Berry J (P)	Mather (P)
Bodtger (P)	Maynard (P)
Byrnes (P)	McLean (P)
Chamberlain (P)	Miller (P)
Clear (P)	Nelmes (P)
Cook (P)	Newman-McKie (P)
Cutler (P)	Osborne (P)
Dibden (P)	Pearson (P)
Evans (P)	Phillips (P)
Fancett (P)	Pines (P)
Gemmell (P)	Power (P)
Godfrey (P)	Prowse (P)
Gosling (P)	Read (P)
Gottlieb (P)	Ruffell (P)
Green (P)	Rutter (P)
Henry (P)	Sanders (P)
Hiscock (P)	Scott (P)
Horrill (P)	Southgate (P)
Humby (P)	Stallard (P)
Hutchison (P)	Tait (P)
Huxstep (P)	Thompson (P)
Izard (P)	Tod (P)
Jeffs (P)	Verney (P)
Johnston (P)	Warwick (P)
Laming	Weir (P)
Learney (P)	Weston (P)
Lipscomb (P)	Wright (P)

1. ELECTION OF MAYOR

Proposed by Councillor Humby.

Seconded by Councillor Godfrey and resolved unanimously that Councillor Eileen Berry be elected Mayor of the City of Winchester for the period commencing on 4 June 2014.

Councillor Jeffs vacated the Chair, which was taken by the Mayor who made the Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

2. VOTE OF THANKS TO THE RETIRING MAYOR

Proposed by Councillor Humby.

Seconded by Councillor Gottlieb and resolved unanimously that the best thanks of the Council be accorded to Councillor Ernest Jeffs for his service to the Council as Mayor during the past year.

3. ELECTION OF DEPUTY MAYOR

Proposed by Councillor Evans.

Seconded by Councillor Johnston and resolved unanimously that Councillor Angela Clear be elected Deputy Mayor of the City of Winchester for the period commencing on 4 June 2014.

4. ELECTION OF LEADER (CHAIRMAN OF CABINET)

Councillor Humby was elected Leader of the Council and Chairman of Cabinet and for the ensuing Municipal Year.

5. <u>APPOINTMENT OF VICE-CHAIRMAN OF CABINET AND REMAINING</u> <u>MEMBERS OF CABINET BY THE LEADER</u>

The Leader appointed Councillor Weston as Vice-Chairman of Cabinet and Deputy Leader of the Council for the ensuing Municipal Year.

The Leader also appointed Councillors Godfrey, Miller, Southgate, Tait and Warwick as the remaining Members of Cabinet.

6. ELECTION OF COMMITTEE CHAIRMEN

The following Members were elected Chairman of the Committees stated for the ensuing Municipal Year:-

The Overview and Scrutiny – Councillor Pines Audit – Councillor Cutler Licensing and Regulation – Councillor Mather Planning – Councillor Ruffell Joint West of Waterlooville MDA Planning Committee - Councillor Ruffell Personnel – Councillor Pearson Standards Committee – Councillor Read Appeals and Disputes – Councillor McLean

7. APPOINTMENT OF COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIPS

With the exception of Cabinet, the Council reviewed the political representation on Committees in accordance with the provisions of Section 15(1) of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989.

The Council determined the representation on all the bodies as set out below under alternative arrangements, but based on the political balance formula.

RESOLVED:

1. That the Chief Operating Officer be authorised to make any minor consequential amendments to the Constitution to give effect to the decisions made.

2. That the allocation of seats to political groups be as follows:

<u>The Overview and Scrutiny (10)</u> Conservatives (5): Liberal Democrats (4): Labour (1)

<u>Audit (9)</u> Conservatives (4): Liberal Democrats (4): Labour (1)

Licensing and Regulation (14) Conservatives (7): Liberal Democrats (6): Labour (1)

<u>Planning (10)</u> Conservatives (5): Liberal Democrats (5): Labour (0)

Joint West of Waterlooville MDA Planning Committee (5) Conservatives (3): Liberal Democrats (2): Labour (0)

Personnel (9) Conservatives (5): Liberal Democrats (4): Labour (0)

<u>Standards (7)</u> Conservatives (3): Liberal Democrats (3): Independent (1)

Housing Appeals (3) Conservatives (1): Liberal Democrats (1): Labour (1)

<u>Appeals and Disputes (9)</u> Conservatives (4): Liberal Democrats (4): Independent (1)

Further to the above, and pursuant to Section 16 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989, the Chief Executive served notice on each of the Leaders of the three political groups on the Council as to the allocation of seats on Committees as indicated above. **RESOLVED**:

That the following appointments to Committees be made (in addition to the Chairmen who were appointed earlier in the meeting):-

The Overview and Scrutiny

Councillors Byrnes, Cook, Evans, Gemmell, Learney, Power, Sanders, Stallard and Wright Deputies

Councillors J Berry, Bodtger, Dibden, Hiscock and Tod

Audit

Councillors J Berry, Hiscock, Mather, Osborne, Power, Stallard, Verney and Weir Deputies Councillors Gosling, Horrill, and Scott

Licensing and Regulation

Councillors Bodtger, Dibden, Gosling, Green, Horrill, Huxstep, Izard, Johnston, Laming, Lipscomb, Mason, Newman-McKie and Wright Deputies

Councillors Clear, Osborne and Pines

Planning

Councillors Evans, Izard, Jeffs, Johnston, McLean, Pearson, Read, Rutter and Scott Deputies

Councillors Gottlieb, Laming, Lipscomb and Newman-McKie

Joint West of Waterlooville MDA Planning Councillors Evans, Newman-McKie, Pearson and Read Deputies Councillors Johnston, Laming, Lipscomb and McLean

Personnel

Councillors Achwal, Byrnes, Cook, Huxstep, Laming, Nelmes, Phillips and Sanders Deputies **Councillors Cutler and Verney**

<u>Standards</u>

Councillors Chamberlain, Clear, Dibden, Johnston, Nelmes and Phillips Note: Independent Persons and Parish Representatives already appointed for 2014/15 municipal year.

RESOLVED:

1. That the Winchester Town Forum be established for 2014/15 with membership consisting of all Members who represent the six Winchester Town Wards.

2. That alternative arrangements other than proportional representation be agreed in respect of the Housing (Appeals) Committee and that Members of the Committee be appointed as follows:-

Councillors Bodtger, Nelmes and Pines <u>Deputies</u> Councillors J Berry, Clear and Ruffell

3. That alternative arrangements other than proportional representation be agreed in respect of the Appeals and Disputes Committee and that the eight additional Members of the Committee be appointed as follows:

Councillors Bodtger, Chamberlain, Fancett, Gottlieb, Horrill, Johnston, Mason and Power.

4. That the pool of Chairman for the Licensing Sub-Committee to serve on a basis under Council Procedure Rule 17 (9) (b) (i) be as follows:-

Councillors Izard, Johnston, Mather and Wright

The meeting commenced at 7pm and concluded at 8.40pm.

The Mayor