# WINCHESTER CITY COUNCIL

At the Annual Meeting of the Council held in the Guildhall, Winchester on 20 May 2015.

# Attendance:

# Councillor Clear (The Mayor in the Chair) (P)

## Councillors:

Achwal Mather (P) Berry E (P) Maynard (P) Berry J (P) McLean (P) Bodtger (P) Miller (P) Byrnes (P) Newman-McKie (P) Burns (P) Osborne Cook Simon (P) Pearson (P) Cook Susan (P) Phillips (P) Cutler (P) Power Dibden (P) Prowse (P) Read (P) Evans (P) Fancett (P) Ruffell L (P) Gemmell (P) Ruffell T (P) Rutter (P) Godfrev (P) Gosling (P) Sanders Gottlieb (P) Scott (P) Green (P) Scowen Hiscock (P) Southgate Horrill (P) Stallard (P) Humby (P) Tait (P) Hutchison (P) Thacker (P) Huxstep (P) Thompson (P) Tod (P) Izard (P) Jeffs (P) Twelftree (P) Johnston (P) Warwick (P) Weir (P) Laming (P) Lipscomb (P) Weston (P) Mason (P) Wright (P)

# 1. **ELECTION OF MAYOR**

Proposed by Councillor Evans.

Seconded by Councillor Johnston and resolved unanimously that Councillor Angela Clear be elected Mayor of the City of Winchester for the period commencing on 20 May 2015.

Councillor Eileen Berry vacated the Chair, which was taken by the Mayor who made the Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

# 2. **VOTE OF THANKS TO THE RETIRING MAYOR**

Proposed by Councillor Godfrey.

Seconded by Councillor Read and resolved unanimously that the best thanks of the Council be accorded to Councillor Eileen Berry for her service to the Council as Mayor during the past year.

# 3. **ELECTION OF DEPUTY MAYOR**

Proposed by Councillor Johnston.

Seconded by Councillor Izard and resolved unanimously that Councillor Jane Rutter be elected Deputy Mayor of the City of Winchester for the period commencing on 20 May 2015.

# 4. <u>ELECTION OF LEADER (CHAIRMAN OF CABINET)</u>

Councillor Godfrey was elected Leader of the Council and Chairman of Cabinet and for the ensuing Municipal Year.

# 5. APPOINTMENT OF VICE-CHAIRMAN OF CABINET AND REMAINING MEMBERS OF CABINET BY THE LEADER

The Leader appointed Councillor Weston as Vice-Chairman of Cabinet and Deputy Leader of the Council for the ensuing Municipal Year.

The Leader also appointed Councillors Byrnes, Horrill, Miller, Pearson and Read as the remaining Members of Cabinet.

# 6. **ELECTION OF COMMITTEE CHAIRMEN**

The following Members were elected Chairman of the Committees stated for the ensuing Municipal Year:-

The Overview and Scrutiny - Councillor Simon Cook

Audit – Councillor Cutler

Licensing and Regulation – Councillor Mather

Planning - Councillor L Ruffell

Joint West of Waterlooville MDA Planning Committee - Councillor L Ruffell

Personnel - Councillor Phillips

Standards Committee – Councillor E Berry

Appeals and Disputes – Councillor McLean

# 7. APPOINTMENT OF COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIPS

With the exception of Cabinet, the Council reviewed the political representation on Committees in accordance with the provisions of Section 15(1) of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989.

The Council determined the representation on all the bodies as set out below under alternative arrangements for the Housing Appeals and Appeals and Disputes Committees, but having regard to the political balance formula.

#### RESOLVED:

- 1. That the Chief Operating Officer be authorised to make any minor consequential amendments to the Constitution to give effect to the decisions made.
  - 2. That the allocation of seats to political groups be as follows:

# The Overview and Scrutiny (10)

Conservatives (6): Liberal Democrats (3): Labour (1)

# <u>Audit (9)</u>

Conservatives (5): Liberal Democrats (4): Labour (0)

# <u>Licensing and Regulation (14)</u>

Conservatives (8): Liberal Democrats (6): Labour (0)

## Planning (9)

Conservatives (5): Liberal Democrats (4): Labour (0)

# Joint West of Waterlooville MDA Planning Committee (5)

Conservatives (3): Liberal Democrats (2): Labour (0)

# Personnel (9)

Conservatives (5): Liberal Democrats (3): Labour (1)

# Standards (7)

Conservatives (4): Liberal Democrats (3): Labour (0)

# Housing Appeals (3)

Conservatives (1): Liberal Democrats (1): Labour (1)

## Appeals and Disputes (9)

Conservatives (4): Liberal Democrats (4): Labour (1)

Further to the above, and pursuant to Section 16 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989, the Chief Executive served notice on each of the Leaders of the three political groups on the Council as to the allocation of seats on Committees as indicated above.

#### RESOLVED:

That the following appointments to Committees be made (in addition to the Chairmen who were appointed earlier in the meeting):-

# The Overview and Scrutiny

Councillors Berry J, Gemmell, Hiscock, Humby, Sanders, Stallard, Thacker, Tod and Wright

## **Deputies**

Councillors Bodtger, Evans, Gosling, McLean and Thompson

## Audit

Councillors Burns, Hiscock, Huxstep, Osborne, Power, Ruffell T, Stallard and Weir

# **Deputies**

Councillors Johnston and Tait

# Licensing and Regulation

Councillors Bodtger, Burns, Green, Huxstep, Izard, Johnston, Laming, Lipscomb, Mason, Newman-McKie, Thacker, Twelftree and Wright Deputies

Councillors Hutchison and Southgate

## **Planning**

Councillors Dibden, Evans, Izard, Jeffs, Johnston, McLean, Scott and Tait

## **Deputies**

Councillors Berry E, Lipscomb, Newman-McKie, Warwick and Weir

# Joint West of Waterlooville MDA Planning

Councillors Evans, Jeffs, Newman-McKie and Tait Deputies

Councillors Johnston, Izard, McLean and Warwick

# <u>Personnel</u>

Councillors Achwal, Simon Cook, Susan Cook, Gosling, Laming, Lipscomb, Scowen and Warwick

#### **Deputies**

Councillors Berry E and Power

## <u>Standards</u>

Councillors Clear, Johnston, Mather, Osborne, Phillips and Rutter Note: Independent Persons and Parish Representatives already appointed for 2015/16 and 2016/17 municipal years.

#### RESOLVED:

- 1. That the Winchester Town Forum be established for 2015/16 with membership consisting of all Members who represent the six Winchester Town Wards.
- 2. That alternative arrangements other than proportional representation be agreed in respect of the Housing (Appeals)

Committee and that Members of the Committee be appointed as follows:-

Councillors Berry J, Bodtger and Hutchison <u>Deputies</u>
Councillors Achwal, Gosling and Thacker

3. That alternative arrangements other than proportional representation be agreed in respect of the Appeals and Disputes Committee and that the eight additional Members of the Committee be

appointed as follows:

Councillors Berry J, Gottlieb, Izard, Johnston, Mason, Ruffell T, Rutter and Twelftree.

4. That the pool of Chairman for the Licensing Sub-Committee to serve on a basis under Council Procedure Rule 17 (9) (b) (i) be as follows:-

Councillors Izard, Johnston, Mather and Wright

The meeting commenced at 7pm and concluded at 8.15pm.

The Mayor