WINCHESTER CITY COUNCIL

At the Annual Meeting of the Council held in the Guildhall, Winchester on 18 May 2016.

Attendance:

Councillor Clear (The Mayor in the Chair) (P)

Councillors:

Achwal (P) Izard (P) Ashton (P) Jeffs (P) Bell Laming (P) Bentote (P) Learney (P) Berry (P) Mather (P) Brook (P) McLean (P) Byrnes (P) Miller (P) **Burns** Pearson (P) Cook (P) Porter Cutler (P) Prince (P) Elks (P) Read (P) Evans (P) Ruffell (P) Gemmell (P) Rutter (P) Scott (P) Godfrey (P) Gottlieb (P) Stallard (P) Green Tait (P) Griffiths (P) Thacker (P) Hiscock (P) Thompson (P) Horrill (P) Tod (P) Warwick Humby (P) Hutchison (P) Weir (P) Huxstep (P) Weston (P)

1. **ELECTION OF MAYOR**

Proposed by Councillor Thompson.

Seconded by Councillor Izard and resolved unanimously that Councillor Jane Rutter be elected Mayor of the City of Winchester for the period commencing on 18 May 2016.

Councillor Angela Clear vacated the Chair, which was taken by the Mayor who made the Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

2. **VOTE OF THANKS TO THE RETIRING MAYOR**

Proposed by Councillor Evans.

Seconded by Councillor Thompson and resolved unanimously that the best thanks of the Council be accorded to Councillor Angela Clear for her service to the Council as Mayor during the past year.

3. **ELECTION OF DEPUTY MAYOR**

Proposed by Councillor Jeffs.

Seconded by Councillor Miller and resolved unanimously that Councillor David McLean be elected Deputy Mayor of the City of Winchester for the period commencing on 18 May 2016.

4. <u>ELECTION OF LEADER (CHAIRMAN OF CABINET)</u>

Councillor Godfrey was elected Leader of the Council and Chairman of Cabinet and for the ensuing Municipal Year.

5. <u>APPOINTMENT OF VICE-CHAIRMAN OF CABINET AND REMAINING</u> <u>MEMBERS OF CABINET BY THE LEADER</u>

The Leader appointed Councillor Weston as Vice-Chairman of Cabinet and Deputy Leader of the Council for the ensuing Municipal Year.

The Leader also appointed Councillors Byrnes, Horrill, Humby, Miller and Pearson as the remaining Members of Cabinet.

6. **ELECTION OF COMMITTEE CHAIRMEN**

The following Members were elected Chairman of the Committees stated for the ensuing Municipal Year:-

The Overview and Scrutiny - Councillor Learney

Audit – Councillor Cutler

Licensing and Regulation - Councillor Mather

Planning - Councillor Ruffell

Joint West of Waterlooville MDA Planning Committee - Councillor Ruffell

Personnel – Councillor Read

Standards Committee - Councillor Thacker

Housing Appeals Committee – Councillor Berry

Appeals and Disputes – Councillor McLean

7. APPOINTMENT OF COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIPS

With the exception of Cabinet, the Council reviewed the political representation on Committees in accordance with the provisions of Section 15(1) of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989.

The Council determined the representation on all the bodies as set out below under alternative arrangements for the Housing Appeals and Appeals and Disputes Committees, but having regard to the political balance formula.

RESOLVED:

- 1. That the Head of Legal and Democratic Services be authorised to make any minor consequential amendments to the Constitution to give effect to the decisions made.
 - 2. That the allocation of seats to political groups be as follows:

The Overview and Scrutiny (9)

Conservatives (5): Liberal Democrats (4)

Audit (7)

Conservatives (4): Liberal Democrats (3)

Licensing and Regulation (11)

Conservatives (6): Liberal Democrats (5)

Planning (9)

Conservatives (5): Liberal Democrats (4)

Joint West of Waterlooville MDA Planning Committee (5)

Conservatives (3): Liberal Democrats (2)

Personnel (7)

Conservatives (4): Liberal Democrats (3)

Standards (7)

Conservatives (4): Liberal Democrats (3)

Housing Appeals (3)

Conservatives (1): Liberal Democrats (2)

Appeals and Disputes (8)

Conservatives (4): Liberal Democrats (4)

Audit (Governance) Sub-Committee (5)

Conservatives (3): Liberal Democrats (2)

Further to the above, and pursuant to Section 16 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989, the Chief Executive served notice on each of the Leaders of the two political groups on the Council as to the allocation of seats on Committees as indicated above.

RESOLVED:

That the following appointments to Committees be made (inclusive of the Chairmen who were appointed earlier in the meeting):-

The Overview and Scrutiny

Councillors Gemmell, Griffiths, Huxstep, Stallard, Thacker, Hiscock, Laming, Learney, Tod

Deputies

Councillors Ashton, Evans, Gottlieb, Thompson

Audit

Councillors Ashton, Burns, Huxstep, Stallard, Cutler, Prince, Weir <u>Deputies</u>

Councillors Bell, Jeffs, Gottlieb

Licensing and Regulation

Councillors Berry, Burns, Huxstep, Jeffs, Mather, Tait, Bentote, Elks, Green, Izard, Laming

Deputies

Councillors Cook, Weir

Planning

Councillors Jeffs, McLean, Read, Ruffell, Tait, Evans, Izard, Laming, Scott

Deputies

Councillors Bell, Berry, Clear, Cook, Griffiths

Joint West of Waterlooville MDA Planning

Councillors Read, Ruffell, Tait, Clear, Evans

Deputies

Councillors Izard, McLean

Personnel

Councillors Berry, Brook, Read, Achwal, Clear, Cook, Cutler Deputies

Councillors Bentote, Tait, Warwick

Standards

Councillors Berry, Mather, Read, Thacker, Bell, Izard, Laming Note: Independent Persons and Parish Representatives already appointed for 2016/17 municipal year.

Audit (Governance) Sub-Committee

Councillors Ashton, Cutler, Huxstep, Stallard, Weir

RESOLVED:

- 1. That the Winchester Town Forum be established for 2016/17 with membership consisting of all Members who represent the five Winchester Town Wards.
- 2. That alternative arrangements other than proportional representation be agreed in respect of the Housing (Appeals)

Committee and that Members of the Committee be appointed as follows:-

Councillors Berry, Elks, Porter <u>Deputies</u> Councillors Achwal, Brook

3. That alternative arrangements other than proportional representation be agreed in respect of the Appeals and Disputes Committee and that the eight Members of the Committee be appointed as follows:

Councillors Gottlieb, Mather, McLean, Stallard, Bentote, Hutchison, Learney, Weir.

4. That the pool of Chairman for the Licensing Sub-Committee to serve on a basis under Council Procedure Rule 17 (9) (b) (i) be as follows:-

Councillors Green, Huxstep, Izard, Mather

The meeting commenced at 7pm and concluded at 8.20pm.

The Mayor