CAB667 FOR DECISION WARD(S): GENERAL

CABINET

11 June 2003

ANNUAL & AD-HOC APPOINTMENTS TO EXTERNAL BODIES

REPORT OF CITY SECRETARY AND SOLICITOR

Contact Officer: Jo Hattersley Tel No: 01962 848155

| RE | CEI | VΤ | RE | FER | REN | ICES: |
|----|-----|----|----|-----|-----|-------|
|----|-----|----|----|-----|-----|-------|

None.

EXECUTIVE SUMMARY:

This report lists the several annual appointments that are required to be made to external bodies for 2003/04.

As an Appendix, it also lists a number of other ad-hoc appointments that need to be made at this time.

RECOMMENDATION:

That Members make the necessary appointments to the external bodies listed in the Report.

2 CAB667

CABINET

11 June 2003

ANNUAL & AD-HOC APPOINTMENTS TO EXTERNAL BODIES

REPORT OF CITY SECRETARY AND SOLICITOR

DETAIL:

- 1 <u>Introduction</u>
- 1.1 Section 2 of the Report gives details of a number of further appointments to external bodies that are made on an annual basis and are required to be made for the 2003/04 Municipal Year.
- 1.2 Section 3 and Appendix A to the Report details a number of other ad-hoc vacancies on outside bodies which have arisen and need to be appointed in the next few months.
- 1.3 These appointments were advertised to Members by letter, dated 27 May 2003. Nominations received will be reported verbally at the meeting.
- 2 Annual Appointments to External Bodies
- 2.1 Listed below are appointments to external bodies that become due on an annual basis.
- 2.2 Annual Appointments to External Bodies (Deputies shown in brackets)

Winchester Movement & Access Plan Joint Members Panel (WMAP)

Last year Councillors Beveridge, Davies, Hiscock, Hutton and Mather were appointed (Councillors Atwell, Higgins and Lipscomb)

Central Hampshire Rural Transport Strategy Members Panel (CHARTS)

Last year Councillors Allgood, Bailey, Busher, Knasel and Sutton were appointed (Councillors Beveridge, Davies and Lipscomb)

Local County Highway Management Advisory Panel

Last year Councillors Beveridge, Busher, Clohosey, Davies, Pearson and Wagner were appointed

(Councillors Bailey, Knasel and Lipscomb)

Project Integra Management Board

Last Year Councillor Wagner was appointed (Councillor Hiscock)

Project Integra Policy Review and Scrutiny Committee

Last year Councillor Hutton was appointed (Councillor Mitchell)

3 CAB667

- 3 Ad-hoc Appointments to Outside Bodies
- 3.1 Appendix A of the report lists a number of other vacancies that have arisen on outside bodies. These organisations are not all appointed on an annual basis and the other vacancies therefore arise throughout the year. The appointments to these organisations are made by Cabinet.

OTHER CONSIDERATIONS

- 4 <u>CORPORATE STRATEGY (RELEVANT TO):</u>
- 4.1 None
- 5 RESOURCE IMPLICATIONS:
- 5.1 Minimal any travel allowances (if payable) can be met from the existing budget.

BACKGROUND DOCUMENTS:

Files held in the City Secretary and Solicitor's Department

APPENDIX A:

Ad-hoc Appointments to Outside Bodies

| Body | Total number of WCC appointees | Remarks |
|---|--------------------------------|---|
| Community Action Hampshire (3 year appointment) | 1 | Previous representative was Councillor Allgood |
| Whiteley Community Association (1 year appointment) | 1 | The representative must be a Ward Councillor for Whiteley. Previous representative was Patrick Wright |
| Winchester Area Community Action (3 year appointment) | 1 | Previous representative was Councillor Pines |

4 **CAB667**

Annual Appointment to External Bodies – Ref.: report CAB667

A list of nominations received prior to 2.00pm on Monday 9 June was emailed to Cabinet Members and Group Leaders on Monday 9 June. Those nominations are listed below along with additional nominations received after that date (shown in italics).

Winchester Movement & Access Plan Joint Members Panel (WMAP)

(5 plus deputies)

Nominees

Charlotte Bailey John Beveridge Georgina Busher Patrick Davies (Deputy: de Peyer) George Hollingbery **Graham Hutton Barry Lipscomb**

Central Hampshire Rural Transport Strategy Members Panel (CHARTS)

(5 plus deputies)

Nominees

Frederick Allgood Charlotte Bailev John Beveridge Georgina Busher Simon Cook Patrick Davies (Deputy: de Peyer)

Richard Knasel **Barry Lipscomb** Cecily Sutton

Pat Stallard wishes to stand as a deputy only

Local County Highway Management Advisory Panel

(5 plus deputies)

Nominees

Charlotte Bailey John Beveridge Phil Clohosey Patrick Davies (Deputy: de Peyer) **Barry Lipscomb**

Project Integra Management Board

1 (plus 1 deputy)

Frank Pearson

George Hollingbery

Peter Rees (for this body or Project Integra Policy Review and Scrutiny Committee)